AIMS @ MESA 2022

Denver, Colorado
December 1-4, 2022
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

AIMS holds its annual board and business meetings in conjunction with the Middle East Studies Association (MESA) Annual Meeting, this year in Denver, Colorado (and virtually via Zoom). The AIMS annual business meeting is open to all members and potential members and provides an opportunity for AIMS colleagues to connect and learn more about AIMS’ achievements and initiatives, and includes reports from your Overseas Research Center Directors and more.

AIMS Annual Business Meeting
Thursday, December 1, 2022, 1:15pm – 2:30pm,
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, Director’s Row E
All members, potential members and interested parties are welcome!


2022 L. Carl Brown Book Prize Winner:
Ali Ahmida, Genocide in Libya: Shar, A Hidden Colonial History, Routledge Press, 2021
(Presenting at the AIMS Business Meeting)

2022 L. Carl Brown Book Prize Honorable Mention:
Becky Schulthies, Channeling Moroccanness: Language and the Media of Sociality, Fordham University Press, 2021

2022 AIMS Sponsored Panels:
North African Conceptions of Sovereignty in the Nineteenth Century
Session I-07, Thursday, December 1 at 3:00 pm

Sultans of Swings: The Zigzagging of State, Society, and Economy in the New Maghreb
Session III-06, December 2 at 8:30 am

Moving the Margins: How Excavating North African and Middle Eastern Women’s Historical Narratives Expands the Archive
Session IX-09, Saturday, December 3 at 3:00 pm

2022 Jeanne Jeffers Mrad Graduate Student Travel Awards:
Elya Assayag, Columbia University, Unstitching the French law: Marriage Law and Domestic Violence in Colonial Morocco (1912-1956)
Session IX-09, Saturday, December 3 at 3:00 pm

Caroline Angle Maguire, University of Maryland, College Park, « La Collaboration Patiente et Éclairée » : North Africans’ Contributions to Local Museum Formation in Algeria, 1830 – 1900
Session X-18, Saturday, December 3 at 5:30 pm

Sophia Mo, Columbia University, Reading Motherhood at the Margins of Algerian Feminist Retellings of Resistance
Session IX-09, Saturday, December 3 at 3:00 pm

Doha Tazi Hemida, Columbia University, Sovereignty and Possession: Baqillani and Bodin
Session VIII-18, Saturday, December 3 at 11:00 am

Yasmine Zarhloule, University of Oxford, St. Antony’s College, The Revival of Cooperatives, Productive Citizens & Neoliberal Practices: Examining B/ordering practices in Eastern Morocco
Session XIII-08, Sunday, December 4 at 1:30 pm

2022 I William Zartman North African Travel Award(s):
Zaynab El Bernoussi, Al Akhawayn University in Ifrane, Morocco, with visiting status in the UAE, Constitutional Tales and the Quest for Dignity in Morocco and Tunisia since 2011
Session III-06, Friday, December 2 at 8:30 am

Youssef El Berrichi, Amideast, Tajwīd in the Foreign Language Classroom: Qur’anic Recitation and Arabic Session III-16, Friday, December 2 at 8:30 am


AIMS nine member Board of Directors serve three year terms. Annually, two are selected from the Institutional Members and one from the general membership. Officers, staff and Overseas Research Center Directors are part of the AIMS steering committee. Past officers and directors are often asked to attend in an advisory capacity.

Current AIMS Board: (through year listed)
2022: Paul Love, Al Akhawayn University
2022: Jacob Mundy, Colgate University
2022: Michael Toler, Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT

2023: Nabil Boudraa, Oregon State University
2023: Gwyneth Talley, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
2023: Yael Warshel, Pennsylvania State University

2024: Mona Atia, George Washington University
2024: Elizabeth Bishop, Texas State University
2024: Kevin Blankinship, Brigham Young University

AIMS Officers, Staff and Advisors:
James Miller, President
Allen Fromherz, Immediate Past President
Yael Warshel, Vice President
Mia Fuller, Treasurer
Gwyneth Talley, Secretary
Terry Ryan, AIMS US Director
Robert Parks, CEMA Director
Laryssa Chomiak, CEMAT Director
Jennifer Rasamimanana, TALIM Director
Rick Spees, CAORC Director
I. William Zartman, Founding Member