Entries must be postmarked by or on March 31, 2020

The L. Carl Brown AIMS Book Prize
in North African Studies for 2020

Established in 2013, the L. Carl Brown AIMS Book Prize is awarded annually to the outstanding book in the area of North African studies. The winning work reflects the innovative intellectual achievements in North African studies exemplified by Garrett Professor in Foreign Affairs and Professor Emeritus at Princeton University, L. Carl Brown. The prize carries an honorarium of $500.00. No cash prize offered for honorable mention. The winner will be invited to give a brief presentation at the annual AIMS business meeting of the Middle East Studies Association (MESA).

  1. To be eligible for consideration, submissions will be books in any chronological period and any field of the humanities or social sciences published in the English language. Books will demonstrate originality of research, new theoretical insights, and advance knowledge about North Africa. The committee reserves the right not to award the prize, if no book is found deserving.
  2. Books published in 2018 or 2019 are eligible for consideration for the 2020 award (copyright year must be 2018 or 2019).
  3. At the time of submission, the author(s) of the submitted work must be current members of AIMS.
  4. Three copies of the book must be sent to the AIMS office at the University of Arizona:
    American Institute for Maghrib Studies
    Center for Middle Eastern Studies
    University of Arizona

    845 N. Park Ave., Room 470
    Tucson, AZ 85721-0158 USA
  5. Each submission must be accompanied by an information sheet from the publisher with the following information:
    Author Name
    Book Title
    Publisher Name
    Year of Publication
    ISBN #
    Contact name, phone, email

To be considered for the prize, entries must be postmarked by or on March 31, 2020. Late entries cannot be considered.

2019 BOOK PRIZE WINNER: Eric Calderwood
 Colonial al-Andalus: Spain and the Making of Modern Moroccan Culture