Administration

AIMS is governed by four officers and a nine-member Board of Directors, each elected for three year terms. The Overseas Directors and US staff facilitate AIMS programs and administration.

Officers

President
Allen Fromherz

Associate Professor
Department of History
Georgia State University

34 Peachtree St., NW,
Ste. 2050
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-413-6366

afromherz@gsu.edu

Vice President
Jonathan Wyrtzen

Associate Professor
Sociology and International
Affairs, History
Yale University

493 College #307
New Haven, CT 06511
Phone: 203-432-5172

jonathan.wyrtzen@yale.edu

Treasurer
Donna Lee Bowen

Professor of Political Science and Middle East Studies
Brigham Young University

794 SWKT
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-3409

donna_bowen@byu.edu

Secretary
Diana Wylie

Professor of History
Boston University

232 Bay State Rd.
Boston, MA 02215
Phone: 617-353-6645

dwylie@bu.edu

Board of Directors

2017

Eric Calderwood
University of Illinois,
Urbana-Champaign

Todd Shepard
Johns Hopkins University

Yael Warshel
Pennsylvania State University

2018

Mia Fuller
University of California,
Berkeley

Doris Gray
Al Akhawayn Univeristy

Jacob Mundy
Colgate University

2019

Benjamin Brower
University of Texas, Austin

Muriam Davis
Univeristy of California,
Santa Cruz (Institutional rep)

Camilo Gomez-Rivas
University of California,
Santa Cruz (Individual rep)

Overseas Research Center Directors

CEMAT
Laryssa Chomiak

Centre d’Etudes Maghrebines a Tunis

B.P. 404, 1049
Tunis-Hached
Tunisia
Phone: 216.71.326.219
Fax: 216.71.328.378

chomiak@aimsnorthafrica.org

CEMA
Robert Parks

Centre d’Etudes Maghrebines en Algerie
Universite d’Oran es-Senia

Bp 1524 St. Charles Oran
Oran Algeria
Phone: 213.41.51.91.69
Fax: 213.41.51.91.69

parks@aimsnorthafrica.org

TALIM
John Davison

Tangier American Legation
Institute for Moroccan Studies

8 zankat America
Tangier 90000
Morocco

Phone: 212 39 93 5317
Fax: 212-3-993-5960

director@legation.org

Staff

Assistant Director
Terry Ryan

American Institute for Maghrib Studies
University of Arizona
School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies

845 N. Park Ave., Rm 470
Tucson, AZ 85721
Phone: 520-626-6498

aims@aimsnorthafrica.org