Administration

AIMS is governed by four officers and a nine-member Board of Directors, each elected for three year terms. The Overseas Directors and US staff facilitate AIMS programs and administration.

Officers

President
Allen Fromherz

Professor
Department of History
Georgia State University
Phone: 404-413-6366

afromherz@gsu.edu

Vice President
James Miller

Executive Director, Moroccan-American Commission (Fulbright-Morocco);
Associate Professor Emeritus, Geography, Department of History & Geography, Clemson University
Phone: 315-960-4495

miller3james@gmail.com

Treasurer
Mia Fuller

Associate Professor of Italian Studies
University of California, Berkeley
Phone: 510-642-4555

miafull@berkeley.edu

Secretary
Diana Wylie

Professor of History
Boston University
Phone: 617-353-6645

dwylie@bu.edu

Board of Directors

2020

Brock Cutler
Radford University
(Individual rep)

Hussein Fancy
Univeristy of Michigan
(Institutional rep)

Yael Warshel
Pennsylvania State University
(Institutional rep)

2021

Ali Akhtar
Bates College
(Individual rep)

Chouki El Hamel
Arizona State University
(Institutional rep)

Quinn Mecham
Brigham Young University
(Institutional rep)

2022

Paul Love
Al Akhawayn University
(Institutional rep)

Jacob Mundy
Colgate University
(Individual rep)

Michael Toler
MIT Aga Khan Documentation Center
(Institutional rep)

Overseas Research Center Directors

CEMAT
Laryssa Chomiak

Centre d’Etudes Maghrebines a Tunis

25 Rue Fatma Ennachi
Menzah V, Tunis
Tunisia
Phone: 216.71.232.533

chomiak@aimsnorthafrica.org

CEMA
Robert Parks

Centre d’Etudes Maghrebines en Algerie
Universite d’Oran es-Senia

Bp 1524 St. Charles Oran
Oran Algeria
Phone: 213.41.51.91.69
Fax: 213.41.51.91.69

parks@aimsnorthafrica.org

TALIM
John Davison

Tangier American Legation
Institute for Moroccan Studies

8 zankat America
Tangier 90000
Morocco

Phone: 212 39 93 5317
Fax: 212-3-993-5960

director@legation.org

US Director

AIMS
Terry Ryan

American Institute for Maghrib Studies
University of Arizona
School of Middle Eastern and North African Studies

845 N. Park Ave., Rm 470
Tucson, AZ 85721
Phone: 520-626-6498

aims@aimsnorthafrica.org